Skip to content

How To Not Let Idiots Ruin Your Day

October 29, 2010

That is the theme of my day today!  Make today count.  Make it a good day for you, even if there are idiots out there trying to ruin it.  I know they’re out there too….you know the ones.  The ones that try to run you off the side of the road when  you’re trying to merge.  Yah, those are  the ones.  They cause all this ruckus and then go about their day like nothing ever happened.

I know a  woman who was in a horrible car accident because of one of those idiots and lived to tell about it .   She was run off a major highway road by some idiot who doesn’t even know what they caused to happen. She was exiting and they merged/swerved all the way over from the left hand lane.  She was sent flying into the air.  No one can come up with a reason as to why/how she is alive.  But she is.  She is a miracle.
I was lucky enough to go visit her in the hospital yesterday and have been inspired by here ever since.  She was in great spirits and even moving around, despite her broken neck, vertebrae, six ribs, punctured lung, and fractured pelvis.   She was so grateful to be alive and to be able to see her two kids again.  She is a living,  breathing miracle from God!

I have taken her story and applied it to my life.  No matter what goes on in this world to get you down,  (there will be plenty of trials thrown your way.)  just know that YOU control your own attitude towards life.

 

What upsets you is not what happens. What upsets you is your response to what happens. Just as easily as you respond in a negative way, you can easily and naturally respond in a positive,  empowering, uplifting way. The biggest problems are often caused by what you choose to do about the smallest problems. Most of those big, painful problems are so unnecessary. Keep reminding yourself that you are in control of you. You are in control and you can decide exactly how you wish to feel at any point. Imagine the power of remaining calm and focused and resourceful when some totally unexpected,  disappointing development interrupts your day. Truly, you can make the disappointments not disappointing at all. Respond on purpose, with purpose. Feel the power and the joy as every moment gives you a way to move  forward. — Ralph Marston

I have seen this poem before. In fact I have it printed out and it is pinned to my inspiration board.  I knew I liked what it said, but I didn’t truly believe it until today.   So from here on out….that is my motto.  Don’t let idiots ruin your day!

 

I will start off by saying…So far my day is magnificent.  I didn’t expect anything less when I opened my eyes this morning.  No matter what happens, I am alive and I am in control of my response to what happens in my world.

I started out with an awesome haircut( thanks AIMIEEEE!!!!!), and now I’m off to do some early Christmas shopping with my hubs.  I might even treat myself to a pumpkin latte.  Who knows??

You should be jealous…VERY jealous.  later loves!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

