Skip to content

A quickie!

August 7, 2010

Here is a quick little thing I made today.  I have been wanting one for a long time. My hubs just cleaned out my car and in an effort to keep it that way I created this cute trash bag.  I just threw it together in about 7 minutes.  Here is a ‘how to’ for those of you that want to know how my brain ticks.

First off, I grabbed some fabric I had laying around (and yes, it matches my car…heheehehe).  I also grabbed a plastic grocery bag to use as the liner on the inside.

I measured and cut the two to the same size.

Then I started sewing up the edges, around the bottom and back up the other side (yes, I sew).

Next, I wanted the top of the bag to have some rigid-ness (is that a word?).  So…I cut up a cardboard cereal box. Perfect!!  My mom must have used cereal boxes 100 different ways in her life time.  I guess that’s where I get my resourcefulness from!

Anywho… I made two 1/2 inch thick  “sticks” to line the top edges with. These worked like a charm!  I used my good ol’ hot  glue gun to hold that in place and tucked the rough ends of the fabric under to finish off the top.

That was it!!  The bag part is done.

Now it just needs something to hang by.  I had this brown polka-dot ribbon already out and that’s what I used…simple as that. No pre-planning required!  I attached the loop by hand sewing it with a thick crochet type of thread.  I thought I was done.

Ok, true story.                                                                                                                                                                                                        I was so excited about what I made that I grabbed my camera and ran downstairs before it started raining and I didn’t have anymore sunlight.  I wanted to hang my new trash bag in my car and take some pics for the blog.  Only to figure out that I hadn’t created a way to undo the ribbon to wrap around my headrest.  Who knew that my car didn’t come with a magical hook for my cute little trash bag?  How was it going hang?  DUH!!

Here’s what I came up with.  I had to cut the ribbon, and singe the ends using a lighter so they wouldn’t fray.  I knew I had some velcro dot things that were sticky on the back and held really well…so I added those at the tips of the ribbon.

Tad-da!! Here is the finished bag.  Doesn’t it look cute?  Everyone could use one of these! No more need to have a car full of unwanted trash.  I really am excited about my new car trash bag!!  I can’t think of a more useful item that I need in my life right now.  Tell me what you think!I’m also whippin’ up some hair things so I will be showing those off soon!

Thanks for all the love!  If you like what I’m dong…by all means hit the ‘SUBSCRIBE’ button to the right.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tiffaney Schrimsher permalink
    August 8, 2010 9:06 pm

    I’m in. Make me one! I’ll pay some money to have something that cool hanging in my car and my car less trashed from my kids. When can I pick it up??

Leave a Reply

