Skip to content

The end is near

July 7, 2010

I was up and ready to go at this chair again today.  We (me & my lovely assistant Brother) took out all of the awful little wood tacks that they used to upholster furniture back in the day.  Man! If they would just use the same materials for furniture now I think it would last longer!  When we ripped that baby open there were the original tags from when the chair was made and a swatch of fabric was also stapled inside.  Pretty neat!!  The chair was made January 31, 1960.   I like to imagine the type of house this was originally in and the type of lady that sat in it.  Guilty pleasure of mine.  HAHAHHA!  Back to the chair….

Here it is all ready to strip down. Bow-chic-a-wowow!!

This is how I made the new material fit.  I paid special attention when ripping off the old fabric to try and get it in one piece to use as a pattern.  As you can see it wasn’t easy.  Then I traced the old stuff with chalk and cut it out. Voila!  Ready to staple back together.  But before I did  that painted all the wooden pieces that were going to be visible a few coats of off white.  I didn’t want to have an all brown chair….I wanted to have a cute white and brown chair.

We ran into some minor problems along the way….I’ll save all the ‘Do’s and Don’ts’ of recovering a chair for another day.  Mostly we just tripped our way through. We re started about 2-3 times in some areas….no biggie. I will post the finale picture just as soon as I add the trim.  Thanks to those of you that have been following me on my chair-adventure!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2010 5:38 pm

    Wow can’t wait to see the finished product! I’d love to do this one day! My parents did this a couple years ago and it was tedious! The chair they did had these little metal tacks that gave my mom quite a few bloody fingers lol. They’re probably the same ones that you’ve been working with. I can’t wait to see the fabric you picked also!!!

  2. July 14, 2010 8:22 pm

    cant wait to see the finished product!!!

Leave a Reply

