Skip to content

Making treasure out of trash

June 24, 2010

I am currently working on some more of the Alphabet Series but have not finished them so I will post something else I am fond of.   I am addicted to painting anything old and making it new!  I love garage sales and thrift stores, stuff on the side of the road, and finding things that make my heart flutter. Who doesn’t??  I was out garage sale’n one fine Saturday morn, and low and behold this beauty appeared!  It was in horrible condition and GROSSLY painted forrest green, but the potential was all there.  Nice legs, curvy body,details galore!!  I must admit that this thing sat in the garage for far too long…there was so much wrong with it I didn’t know where to begin.  So, I just started sanding it down all over giving it a good massage. Then I started slappin’ white paint (well, old semi white paint…whatever I had on hand!) on it and after about 3-4 coats it was done! 

I wasn’t thrilled with the ugly 80’s black knobs that it came with so I went on a hunt at a local ‘all things that are old’ shop and found some cute pull ring knob things for 5.00 bucks. SCORE!   Then I headed home to put them on.  I should have known it was too good to be true. The shop only had 8 pull ring knobs, and guess how many I needed….yepp 10.  So back to the drawing board.  I really hate buying new stuff…I don’t know why.  I just do. Especially for an old piece like this….new just wont do.

Anyway, I added an antique glaze to some of the details to make them ‘pop’. I am really pleased with the over all turn out of this dresser. My mom loved it so much she bought it from me that day!!  Thanks mom!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sabrina(: permalink
    June 25, 2010 11:29 pm

    That looks awesome! You really have a gift my wonderful aunt! (:

    • June 26, 2010 2:00 am

      Awww…my beautiful niece! I love you! Thank you;)

Leave a Reply

