Skip to content

Making something new…again.

June 17, 2010

This past Christmas my mommy dearest received a nice new shiny gift.  A jewelry box. It was to replace her old scruffy/outdated/smaller box.  I have seen this box on her dresser for as long as I can remember.  The smell of it reminds me of dressing up in my mothers gaudy baubles. She even used to keep my old baby teeth in that jewelry box.  I couldn’t just let my daddy toss it in the garage like a piece of junk.  So…I adopted it!  I took that hunk of wood home and just stared at her for weeks.

Then one day it hit me…I knew exactly what I was going to do with her.  I slapped a few coats of white paint on, and recovered the panels in the front with scrapbook paper.  I dunked the hardware in acetone to age the brass some, and sanded her down. Viola!  My new vintage jewelry box. Full of cute trinkets and fond memories.

I love, love ,love it!!!

I have  just been dabbling in turning old furniture new again.  It makes me happy to see that something old and discarded can be updated and brought back to life.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 4:01 pm

    wow this is beautiful! what did you use on those panels? that print is beautiful! I love taking old things and giving them new life. Especially sentimental things. My mom still has all of my baby teeth in her old jewelery box! haha is that a common place for baby teeth or what?

    • June 18, 2010 2:06 am

      Thanks! I used this really amazing product called scrap paper. lol It was the paper that influenced the whole makeover. How funny that your mom stored your teeth in this unusual spot. I guess I’ll have to carry on the tradition with my boys!

  2. June 18, 2010 2:53 pm

    I guess I will have to do it too! how funny!

  3. June 25, 2010 5:58 am

    WOW! If Holly hadn’t of said it was a jewel box in her post I would have thought this was a GIANT armoire by the first photo!!!! Great job!!!

    • June 25, 2010 4:22 pm

      Thank you. Yea, it would have been one really ugly armoire!

  4. June 25, 2010 1:42 pm

    I totally agree with Rebecca above, I thought it was an armoire and then I saw the jewerely and did quite the double take. It came out gorgeous though. Great job!!

  5. June 26, 2010 9:05 pm

    I am working on a large-scale project like this and saw your pic and thought “Yes, that is what I was looking for!” and “if she can do it so can I!” but then realized that yours is a tiny jewelry armoire and mine a massive two-day painting giant. LOL! But hey, I guess the same principle should apply. I just keep procrastinating thinking it will be oh so hard… Wish me luck!
    ~ Autumn Clark

Trackbacks

  1. Another reason to TGIF!!! « My flare lady..
  2. 2010//My Blog in Review « Myflarelady..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

